Daniel-Castan.jpg

Daniel CASTAN
1959

Paintings

Born in 1959 in the Dordogne, Daniel Castan has been drawing since a very young age. A graduate of the Beaux Arts de Bordeaux, he worked as a graphic designer, created his company and carried out work for Unicef, Pierre Balmain, the UN, Zippo, Polyflamme... Then at the age of 40, he took up the brush again. for fun and just for fun. At 48, he gives up everything to live his dream...


In a first professional life, the artist Daniel Castan traveled a lot in New York and Hong Kong. He retains a fascination for urban universes and their disproportionate perspectives. In his paintings, he tries to recreate these very graphic atmospheres. The lines of the buildings are lost in the sky, the wide avenues seem endless, the colors collide. The artist works from his memories, his imagination.


Daniel Castan chose to paint with an alkyd oil. This is worked like conventional oil, but its binder is a resin which allows accelerated drying. The knife, meanwhile, is the tool of choice for the artist. It allows him to work both in paste, in broad strokes, and to draw in the material.

+33(0)6 45 97 65 58

01 53 76 49 80

16 Avenue Matignon, 75008 Paris, France

©2019 by Galerie A. Leadouze.

Daniel CASTAN
1959

Peintures

Né en 1959 en Dordogne, Daniel Castan dessine depuis son tout jeune âge. Diplômé des Beaux Arts de Bordeaux, il travaille en tant que graphiste-designer, crée sa société et exécute des travaux pour l'Unicef, Pierre Balmain, l'Onu, Zippo, Polyflamme... Puis à 40 ans, il reprend le pinceau pour le plaisir et rien que pour le plaisir. À 48 ans, il lâche tout pour vivre son rêve...


Dans une première vie professionnelle, l'artiste Daniel Castan a beaucoup voyagé à New York et à Hong Kong. Il en garde une fascination pour les univers urbains et leurs perspectives démesurées. Dans ses toiles, il essaie de recréer ces ambiances très graphiques. Les lignes des immeubles se perdent dans le ciel, les larges avenues semblent sans fin, les couleurs s'entrechoquent. L'artiste travaille d'après ses souvenirs, son imagination.


Daniel Castan a choisi de peindre avec une huile alkyde. Celle-ci se travaille comme l'huile classique, mais son liant est une résine qui permet un séchage accéléré. Le couteau, quant à lui, est l'outil de prédilection de l'artiste. Il lui permet de travailler à la fois en pâte, en large touche, et de dessiner dans la matière.