ChristianEsctal.jpg

Christian ESCTAL

1955 - 2018


Paintings Sculptures

In 1976, then aged 21, he moved to Paris where he did various odd jobs and frequented museums, exhibitions and art galleries in an almost bulimic way, and became a regular at auction rooms and particularly in the art gallery. 'Hotel Drouot. He thus finely forms his taste and his pictorial sense.


At 23, Christian Esctal draws, paints, sculpts and finally joins the field for which he was made and in which he will not stop evolving.


Over the years, he exhibited in various private places and galleries in France, Belgium and Germany. His paintings will be sold many times by various auctioneers, at the Hôtel Drouot, the place of his first contacts with the world of art lovers and collectors.


With a production as rich and varied as it is abundant, Christian Esctal is constantly looking for the form of expression closest to his reality.

At the end of the 1970s, despite the absence of real pictorial landmarks, Christian Esctal embarked on the adventure of creation. He makes extensive use of the collage technique  ; the papers are worked with felt before being glued on a canvas enhanced with acrylic. The essays are sometimes hesitant but reveal a keen sense of color and its use in space.


At the very beginning of the 80s, he began to use the canvas to project his fantasies, his fears and reveal an exacerbated sensitivity, in an irrepressible bubbling and an instinctive organization of space. Despite an apparent disorder, it is totally structured, the movement is thought out and mastered.


If you look closely, it's a whole world that offers itself to the gaze  ; each canvas tells a story where sensuality, suffering and eroticism are omnipresent. The 90s marked a creative surge that explored techniques and during which all media were an incentive to creativity.


This work marks a certain evolution in the approach of the artist who joins the universe of playful innocence that was lacking in his childhood.

+33(0)6 45 97 65 58

01 53 76 49 80

16 Avenue Matignon, 75008 Paris, France

©2019 by Galerie A. Leadouze.

Christian ESCTAL

1955 - 2018


Peintures Sculptures

En 1976, âgé alors de 21 ans, il s’installe à Paris où il exerce différents petits boulots et fréquente de façon presque boulimique les musées, les expositions, les galeries de peinture, et devient un habitué des salles des ventes et particulièrement de l’Hôtel Drouot. Il forme ainsi finement son goût et son sens pictural.


A 23 ans, Christian Esctal dessine, peint, sculpte et rejoint enfin le domaine pour lequel il était fait et dans lequel il ne va plus cesser d’évoluer.


Au fil des années, il expose dans différents lieux privés et galeries tant en France qu’en Belgique ou e Allemagne. Ses toiles seront vendues à de nombreuses reprises par différents commissaires-priseurs, à l’Hôtel Drouot, lieu de ses premiers contacts avec le monde des amateurs et collectionneurs d’art.


Avec une production aussi riche et variée que foisonnante, Christian Esctal est à la recherche permanente de la forme d’expression la plus proche de sa réalité.

A la fin des années 70, malgré l’absence de vrais repères picturaux, Christian Esctal se lance dans l’aventure de la création. Il utilise largement la technique du collage ; les papiers sont travaillés au feutre avant d’être collés sur une toile rehaussé à l’acrylique. Les essais sont parfois hésitants mais laissent transparaitre un sens aigu de la couleur et de son utilisation dans l’espace.


Au tout début des années 80, il commence à utiliser la toile pour y projeter ses fantasmes, ses peurs et dévoiler une sensibilité exacerbée, dans un bouillonnement irrépressible et une organisation instinctive de l’espace. En dépit d’un apparent désordre, il est totalement structuré, le mouvement est pensé et maitrisé.


En y regardant bien, c’est tout un monde qui s’offre au regard ; chaque toile raconte une histoire où sensualité, souffrance et érotisme sont omniprésents. Les années 90, marquent un déferlement créatif qui explore des techniques et pendant lequel tous les supports constituent une incitation à la créativité.


Ce travail marque une évolution certaine dans la démarche de l’artiste qui rejoint l’univers d’innocence ludique qui a manqué à son enfance.